Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

A drive through the detoriated and congested 20km Apapa Wharf Road would sketch a picture of the decaying state of our Ports.

This image is made evident when you calculate the number of days it takes a truck with an authority to load (ATL) to go in and out of the ports. This was a process that took a maximum of three hours before now. Today, it takes between 7 – 9 days to run the course.

The pathetic situation is worsened by the volume of goods laid waste before they get to their final destinations.

The deterioration on this stretch of road has defied many a government efforts, including those of the Lagos State government. It was so bad that the governor of the state, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu after promising to clear the gridlock within 60 days in office recanted.

The Presidential order of May 21, 2019, to that effect also failed to yield the expected result.

The ugly situation has continued to provoke discussions among the public. It has equally become major topic in the newspapers and blogs. No one seems to know the way out.

We would have remained in this den of confusion by neglecting the real issues that led to the congestion in the first place. We have either out of omission or intention left fallow over five other ports in different regions of the country.

Therefore, it iwas a breath of fresh air for the entire nation when Hon. Ifeanyichukwu Ibezi, the strong voice, representing Idemili North and South Federal Constituency, rose to challenge the status quo, by raising a motion on the floor of the House of Representatives, for the Discongestion of the Apapa and Tin Can ports and the Revival of the Port Harcourt, Onne, Warri, Calabar and Onitsha Inland ports.

Realising the importance of this motion the 9th Assembly, under the leadership of Rt. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila on Thursday, July 18, 2019, set up a 14-man Ad Hoc Committee to “determine why the Warri, Port Harcourt, Onne, Calabar and Onitsha Inland ports complexes are not being put to maximum use”. The Ad Hoc Committee has Hon. Baba Yusuf Yakub as its Chairman.

Other members of the committee are Hon. Ifeanyichukwu Ibezi, Hon. Makama Missau Ibrahim, Hon. Onuh Blessing Onyeche, Hon. Haruna Maitala, Hon. Victor Amela, Hon. Nuhu Yakubu Danja, Hon. Aliyu Ibrahim Almustapha, Hon. Alex Egbona, Hon. Akiolu Moshood Kayode, Hon. Kolade Victor Akinjo, Hon. Olayide Adewale Akinremi, Hon. Kalu Benjamin Okezie and Hon. Suny Goli Isreal.

The Ad hoc committee is expected to report back within six weeks with its findings for further legislative action.

With Ibezi, a strong voice is guaranteed and the benefits of his positive actions will encompass the good people of Idemili North and South Federal constituency.


For Enquiries - Publications or Advert Placements:
Call: +2348101238579 or Email:

Write A Comment

Pin It!